Giving Thanks

25 Nov

Today, I am thankful, grateful, appreciative, blessed beyond my wildest imagination.

My children have taught me the meaning of all-consuming, unconditional, overpowering love. They give me a reason to live, and a reason to be a better person. They are funny and kind and make me laugh. One kiss and hug from them shores up my soul and heals every wound. They are amazing little people and I don’t know what lucky karmic twist of fate allowed me to be their mom, but I am so thankful that they are mine.

My husband is my rock, my sounding board, my best friend. He stayed when it would have been easier to leave and has brought me back from my darkest depths. He is an incredible father. He makes me laugh, even when I don’t want to. I will never be able to make him see how much his love means to me and how without his support, I don’t know where I would be today.

My parents have shown me true love and compassion, and unswerving support. I draw strength from their strength. They are always there to listen and I know that they would do anything for me.

My brother is smart, strong, and probably the funniest person I know. He has always marched to his own beat and has taught me the importance of not giving a shit what anyone else thinks. My kids are crazy about him and even though he says he will never have kids of his own, he will make an amazing father someday. He shares the memories of my life, and he shares my biggest pain. He is irreplaceable.

My friends (many of which I am also lucky enough to call my family), while things are most decidedly different since we all got married and started having kids, are always there in my mind and heart, and will be there for me whenever I need them. They share some of my greatest memories and I am so lucky to have them in my life.

My country and those that serve it will allow my children to grow up free and to be whatever they want to be. There is no way to repay the men and women and their families who make the ultimate sacrifice to keep us safe and free. Thank you is not enough.

My brother Nathan. While he is not here with me and I miss him more than I could ever adequately describe, he is in my soul. His smile and his laughter and his love of life is something I carry with me every day. Nater, I miss you, I love you, I wish you were here. But I am so thankful that I got to be your sister for 20 years. Thank you for all you’ve taught me in life and death. I love you.

I hope you all have a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving. Now I’m off to dig up some old maternity pants so that I have adequate room for stuffing my face! Happy Thanksgiving!!

One Response to “Giving Thanks”

  1. Heather November 29, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    Great post! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

