I did it

23 May

So guess what guys? I did it. I quit my job. Friday was my last day. Starting next Tuesday, I’ll be working part time somewhere new and spending the extra 15 hours a week focusing on my kids and my writing career.

Right now there is a part of me that wants to let it all out. I want to tell you exactly how horrible it was to work there. I want to tell you stories you wouldn’t believe. I want to name names, I want to talk about how the managing partner didn’t give me so much as a good-bye. But I’m not going to. Not because I care about them finding this space or finding out what I really think of every single self-absorbed, judgmental, and narcissistic person I worked with. I won’t because I don’t want to be that person. I want to move on and walk away with the positive lessons I learned. Suffice it to say that if I had had any doubts about leaving (which I didn’t) they all would have been eradicated by the actions of a few co-workers in my last week.

I get an unexpected and awesome week off this week which I plan to use doing whatever I want (which will include writing here-next post will be part three in the sorority story, I promise!) and relaxing.  The weight of the world is off my shoulders. Since I walked out of those doors on Friday, my stomach hasn’t dropped every time my phone rings. I haven’t had one moment of panic when I thought of a project on which I might have made a mistake. This weekend, my blood pressure didn’t start rising on Sunday at the thought of facing another Monday there.

This road I’m venturing on won’t be without its difficulties. We might struggle with money for a while. I might be a terrible writer. I might not like my new job. But it will be worth it to me, to finally give myself a chance to do what I love to do. If I fail, at least I tried.

It’s only been three days, but already I have laughed more, smiled more, and thanked God more. I have played with my kids more, kissed my husband more and I have just simply been present with them. I have made plans for how I’m going to do this writing thing and I even have a couple of clients already. I’m looking toward the future with hope and promise and excitement.I am content.

For the first time in 5 1/2 years, I am content. It feels amazing.

9 Responses to “I did it”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife May 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Just reading the TITLE of this post filled me up with anticipatory happy tears. You are such an inspiration.

    I wish you the BEST of luck in this new pursuit! And I have every faith that you are going to be amazing.

  2. nwgirl May 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Yay! Congrats to you! You are such an inspiration to me! I can’t wait until my “side” job makes me enough that I can walk out the doors of my “day” job forever! Love, love, love!

  3. Heather May 24, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    So so so so so so so so (times infinity) happy for you. SMILES!

  4. Jenn May 24, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Yay! That is fantastic news!!
    I LOVE IT when people choose happiness (their own and/or that of their family) over things like work, money, etc.
    Also, for the record, you are an AMAZING writer. Don’t ever doubt that!
    xoxo

  5. Kat @ Living Like the Kings June 2, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    I am so very jealous! And there have been MANY times when i wanted to talk about work too….but had to walk away. not for all the same reasons are you…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That time I was in a sorority, Part 3 « KristinaMarie - May 25, 2011

    […] can read Part 1 here and Part 2 here. Also– thank you guys so much for your comments on my last post. I certainly don’t see myself as inspirational. To be totally honest, I’m terrified. […]

  2. Pictures of my kids in which you don’t actually see my kids « KristinaMarie - July 14, 2011

    […] though I’m feeling much more comfortable sharing more here since I moved URLs and quit that god-awful job, I’m still unsure about whether or not I want to share pictures of my kids or use their real […]

  3. Anonymous - November 3, 2011

    […] I made the decision to pursue this dream of mine, I had no illusions that it would be easy or that work would just fall into my lap. But I knew […]

  4. I did it, Part Deux « - December 14, 2011

    […] I first wrote a post titled “I did it” it was because I had quit my full-time, life-sucking, making-me-miserable job to work part […]

Leave a Reply

