A Day in the Life

25 Aug

There is this phenomena going around the internet, where people are posting what a typical day is like in their lives. Kat over at Living Like the Kings did a whole week! I am finding it fascinating, mostly because I’m totally nosey and like to know what other people’s lives are like, even the  tiny details.

What’s striking me as most interesting is how all the moms, working or SAHM, seem to have roughly the same craziness and chaos trapped within a very defined schedule. What I’m also a little surprised at is how many people with kids the same age as mine eat dinner after their kids go to bed. We all eat together and I never even considered doing it differently, but oh! the peace and quiet and not having to stop eating 10 frillion times to pick up dropped forks or refill milk or fight with the four year old about how yes, he does like carrots and ends up asking for seconds every time and OMG WILL YOU JUST EAT THEM. It would be heavenly. But I really don’t think I could make it until 8:30 to eat dinner. I would end up eating two dinners.

So here is what a weekday is like at our house (our weekends are usually a crazy mix of visiting friends and family, running errands, doing chores, etc., that I’m not even going to attempt to define them here.

5:45-6:30 Tessa will wake up somewhere in this timeframe and since the kids share a room she usually stands in her crib and screams “Bruh-bo! Bruh-bo!” until Nolan wakes up. When they are up, I get them each a cup of milk, plant them next to each other on the couch  under a blanket so they can “cuddle” (translation- Nolan tries to cuddle because “Sissy is just so cute I could eat her” and Tessa screams “No! And slaps him.) and turn the TV on for them to watch (lately, it’s been an endless round of Toy Story (1,2, or 3) or Bubble Guppies, either of which will encite dancing and body-wiggling and screams of “Toweee Toweee!!!” or “Bubba Guppies!” from Tessa.).

6:10: Hubs’ alarm goes off for the first time.

6:20: Hubs’ alarm goes off for the second time and he’s up for the day.

6:20-6:30: If the kids aren’t up yet, I get up, make Hubs’ lunch, make Nolan’s lunch and get the kids’ cups of milk ready for when they do wake up. If they’re already up, I’m usually finished with lunches by this time and I’ll cuddle with them while I wait for Hubs to finish getting ready.

6:30-6:35: Hubs makes his breakfast (usually something he takes to go), begs for hugs from Tessa, who, surprise, surprise, screams “NO!” then laughs and runs away, tickles Nolan until he caves in and gives him hugs and kisses, kisses me, and heads off to work.

6:35-7:00: I jump in the shower, get dressed, do hair and makep-up, all while being interrupted approximately 7,423 times by screaming children.

7:00-7:30: Get the kids dressed, pottied, ready to go and feed them breakfast. While they’re eating, I make sure they have everything in their bags that they need for the day. I also let the dog out.

7:30-7:40: Last mad dash for shoes and whatever else I’ve forgotten, let the dog back in, make sure he has food and water, and we’re out the door.

7:45-7:50: Drop Nolan off at Pre-K.

7:55-8:00: Drop Tessa off at daycare.

8:00-8:45: This is where my schedule gets weird. Nolan started Pre-K last week. It starts at 8, but I don’t have to be at work until 9. So I have about 45 minutes to kill in the morning and lucky for me, the kids’ school/daycare, our house, and my office are all within about three miles of each other, so I have the luxury of heading back home to a quiet house at 8. I will make myself breakfast and read while I eat, or clean up the house, do laundry, or work on freelance stuff.

8:45-9:00: Usually stop for some kind of drink, head to work.

9:00-9:30: Get to work, check email, Twitter, blogs, etc as I wait for our computer system to boot up.

9:00-12:00: Work. Which is so incredibly boring I don’t even want to talk about it here.

12:00-12:30: Lunch. Check blogs, Twitter, (I’m pretending like I don’t do this throughout the day), eat, usually read. Might run an errand occasionally.

12:30-3:00: Work.

3:00-4:00 ish: Head home, work on freelance projects or run errands. NOTE: On Wednesdays I get off at 12:00, so I spend 12:00-4:00 ish on those days working on freelance projects or running errands.

4:00-4:30: Pick up kiddos (unless Hubs does that on his way home, which means they will be home about 4:00).

4:30-5:00: Hubs plays with the kids (or they watch a little TV) while I make dinner.

5:00-5:45: We eat, Hubs and I clean up, the kids play.

5:45-6:00: This is what I like to call our “tummy-settling” time. This is the time when Hubs and I tell the kids that we need to “let our tummies settle from dinner” and we basically let them run around like little mad children while we try to catch a couple minutes of talking to each other or zoning out in front of Seinfeld.

7:00: We play, sometimes outside, sometimes we go for a walk, and Hubs and I might try to sneak in some chores.

7:00-7:20: Bath time

7:20-7:30: Time to get Tessa ready for bed (jammies, book, paci, milk) and she usually goes right to sleep.

7:30-8:20: Nolan gets a little mommy and daddy one-on-one time. We might watch a movie, play games, there is often a lot of wrestling/baseball playing.

8:20-8:35: Time to get Nolan ready for bed (jammies, potty, brush teeth). Have an argument where Nolan points outside and says “Do you see how light it is out there? It is NOT my bedtime!” Then get him in bed, where we whisper-argue for another five minutes about how I should tell him a story or cuddle with him (I don’t always give in.)

8:35-10:00 ish: Hubs showers and then he and I try to have a decent conversation, which, honestly rarely happens at this time of the day. We usually watch TV, or mess around on the computer. 8 times out of 10, Hubs is watching some sporting event and I read a book.

10:00 ish-10:30 ish: I wash my face, brush teeth, etc., etc. We head to bed, where Hubs will most likely promptly fall asleep watching something ridiculous on TV and I read some more.

The end! Isn’t it glamorous??

4 Responses to “A Day in the Life”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife August 25, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    You have SO MUCH going on – wow!

  2. Ryan September 2, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    This is NOT inspiring me to want to have children any time in the near future.

  3. mrslltkings September 7, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    The week posts were actually surprisingly easy since I didn’t have to think. LOL. Brain? What? Where? Anywho – ummmmm so we want 2 kids and now you’re really scaring me lol. That is SO MUCH!

    And another one – does it drive you insane that he gets to snooze his alarm twice while you’re up at 530? This happens at my house and it drives me up a wall…and back.

    • Kristina September 7, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      Lol! It is a lot, but just like you can’t imagine incorporating one kid in your life, it’s hard to imagine two, but then it happens and you make it work and (most of the time) it doesn’t feel too overwhelming.

      The snooze thing does kind of drive me crazy…now. But up until Nolan started Pre-K, I didn’t have to get up when Hubs does *because I don’t have to be at work until 9 and the kids could go to daycare whenever) so if the kids were still asleep, I got to stay in bed, so I guess this is a little bit of revenge on Hubs’ part 🙂 BUT. I still get up earlier on weekends and DID do the middle of the night feedings, so he totally owes me anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

