Mommy Brain

7 Sep

You guys, I had what I thought was a really heart-felt and nice post for today. It was almost ready. But then something happened this afternoon that made me think that perhaps I shouldn’t qualify anything I’ve written today as “good” so I’m going to spare you.

Oh, what happened, you ask? Let me tell you.

When I went to leave for lunch, I couldn’t find my keys. But don’t worry, I found them. In the trash can.

I’ll let that sink in.

The. Trash. Can.

Luckily there was only paper in there, but still. Let’s not even talk about how I knew to look for them in the trash can in the first place. But what could possibly have been going through my head at the moment I threw them in there? I threw away a paper towel that my breakfast sandwich was wrapped in, but why my keys?? What was going on in my head? I didn’t find any trash in my purse, so it’s not like I threw the paper towel in my purse and my keys in the trash. And I have a METAL trash can. HOW DID I NOT HEAR THEM FALL IN THERE?

I’m blaming my job. And my freelance stuff that is keeping me super busy. And my husband. And my dog.  But mostly, I’m blaming my kids.

I swear to you, I used to be smart.

One Response to “Mommy Brain”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife September 8, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    UGH. I hate days like that! Thank goodness it wasn’t a full garbage can in McDonald’s. That’s the worst place to look for your keys. Not that I would know. (Okay, I do know. SIGH.)

Leave a Reply

