Write on Edge – 8 pm

4 Nov

I’m tired right down to my bones. The day has been filled with the typical rush of preparing little people for daycare and school, packing lunches, working, laundry, making dinner, cleaning up, trying to breathe.  It’s likely that this is the first time all day I’ve stopped going, stopped moving,  just stopped.

My babies smell fresh and wonderful, the way only small children can after a bath. They are ensconced in their soft, footie pajamas and we’re cuddled up on the couch, watching TV, reading books, stealing hugs and kisses. My littlest one should be in bed, but I resist as she lays her curly-haired head on my chest and sighs “Mama.”  My big boy asks me to sit by him and make him “comftable” with a blanket.

I catch my husband’s eye, knowing that we’re both simultaneously looking forward to and dreading bedtime.  He reaches out to touch my leg, smooth the baby’s hair, squeeze our little man’s foot.

I sit between my son and my daughter, reveling in their sweetness, begging God for a way to freeze time right here, before 8 pm sees them texting their friends or messing around on the computer or holed up alone in their rooms.

This post is inspired by a prompt from Write on Edge:

This week we asked you to give us 8:00 -AM or PM, fiction or creative non-fiction- but 8:00. In 200 words or less.

We’ll go wherever you decided to lead us to and absolutely can’t wait to meet you there!

10 Responses to “Write on Edge – 8 pm”

  1. Wanderlust November 4, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Oh, what a sweet family portrait you paint here. I know that feeling so well of wanting to freeze time.

  2. Rachel @ Totally Ovar It November 4, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    I love that I feel I’m sitting there as a part of your family. Your descriptions make everything about the moment very tangible. Lovely picture!

  3. kidfriendlyja November 4, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Bed time usually has the same effect on me… all the back chat and mischief melts away and the sweet angels that they are shines through and I want to savour it forever. Lovely post

  4. Runnermom-jen November 4, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Yes, yes, and yes. I can SO relate to this. I wish there were a freeze button for time too.
    Very sweet.

  5. Carrie November 4, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I’m jealous. My girls are chaos at bedtime. Fighting over who brushes their teeth first, who gets their book read first. Then the last minute please “I need water.” “I need a snack”

    bedtime is SO much fun 😉

  6. Life of a Doctor's Wife November 4, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    So lovely… That last paragraph, especially, really highlights how fleeting time is!

  7. Venus November 4, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Such a lovely picture, thanks for sharing!

  8. Renee November 4, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    This a beautiful family portrait. You’ve successfully frozen this moment.

  9. K November 4, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    LOVED this!

  10. Galit Breen November 5, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Oh, do I ever love this. The sweet moment hopelessly moving so very fast.

    As hard as bedtime can be some days- I, too, dread the day when it looks completely different than it does now!

Leave a Reply

