I would marry my CrockPot if I could

9 Nov

I love my CrockPot. As a working mom, it is my lifesaver. There is no better feeling than coming home after a long day and knowing that dinner is already done and I don’t have to do a thing but slop something on my plate. I imagine that’s what people who have a personal chef feel like every day.

Also, now that it’s fall, it’s prime CrockPot season. Chili and soup and roasts, oh my! So in that vein, I thought I’d share some of my favorite and easy CrockPot recipes.

Pepperoncini Beef*

One roast (frozen)
One jar of pepperoncinis (I’ve used sliced and whole and had success with both

Dump jar of pepperoncinis over roast and cook on low for about 8 hours. Serve on sandwiches (I like it with sliced pepperjack or cheddar cheese) or nachos. SO good and SO easy. Also, it’s not as spicy as you think.

Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
One packet of dry ranch dressing mix
Frank’s Hot Sauce (I think the recipe called for half a bottle, but I usually just eye-ball it)

Put chicken on bottom of CrockPot, dump ranch on top of chicken and pour hot sauce over it. Cook on low for about 6 hours, shred chicken and serve on sandwiches. It’s not as spicy as you think it’s going to be, promise.

Italian Chicken

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
One beer
One packet of dry italian dressing mix
One jar pepperoncinis

Dump everything together and cook on low for about 6 hours. Shred the chicken and serve on sandwiches with cheese.

Yummy Roast (because I don’t actually have a name for this one)

Potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes
Small carrots
Lipton onion soup mix
One roast

Put potatoes and carrots on bottom of CrockPot. Place roast on top. Mix onion soup with about 3/4 cup of water and pour on top of roast. Cook on low for about 8 hours. You can also add a can of cream of mushroom soup to this and it’s SUPER delish.

Now I’ll give you some links to other recipes that I’m much too lazy to type.

Pioneer Woman’s Shredded Chicken Tacos. These are a favorite of my family’s and even the kids gobble them up. I like mine with shredded cheese, sour cream, and guacamole.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili This recipe is way more complicated than I typically like my CrockPot recipes but it’s SO good.  I made it last weekend for a Halloween family get-together and it was a big hit. I cut out all the peppers and didn’t use the spicy beans. I just stuck with Tabasco for the spice and it was STILL super spicy. So beware.

Slow Cooker Braised Short Ribs This is, by far, my favorite CrockPot recipe. It’s SO good. I’ve used it on short ribs, pork ribs, and a regular roast, and it was delicious every time.

Enjoy!

Any CrockPot recipes you have that I need to be making??

*I stole this recipe from someone, but don’t remember who. It could have been Temerity-Jane or Jonniker, but I just don’t know.

4 Responses to “I would marry my CrockPot if I could”

  1. Wanderlust November 9, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I was just this past weekend trying to think of things I could make in the crockpot. I have one but rarely use it. But how nice to have a hot meal waiting when we get home at night!

  2. K November 10, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I make that Yummy Roast and it rocks steady all night long. I LOVE IT.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I’m loving lately « - November 10, 2011

    […] My CrockPot: Because, duh. […]

  2. Easy Appetizer Recipes « - November 14, 2011

    […] Since I’ve started working part-time I’ve been cooking a lot more, and cooking recipes that actually require some preparation and time. It’s been fun. But at the end of the day, I’m still a big fan of something easy, as evidenced by my confession of love for my CrockPot. […]

Leave a Reply

