Easy Appetizer Recipes

14 Nov

Since I’ve started working part-time I’ve been cooking a lot more, and cooking recipes that actually require some preparation and time. It’s been fun. But at the end of the day, I’m still a big fan of something easy, as evidenced by my confession of love for my CrockPot.

Also, I love when people share their favorite easy recipes. So today I bring you my favorite easy appetizer recipes. Now, I should tell you that any foodie that reads this blog will probably keel over dead after reading this. These are not GOURMET recipes. Far, far, FAR from it. They are not healthy, not even a little bit. But so, SO good.

Bacon Cheddar Ranch Dip

One packet of dry ranch dressing mix
16 oz sour cream
Bacon bits
Shredded cheddar cheese (I like sharp)

I don’t have exact amount for the bacon and cheese, I just add until I think it’s done. Mix all together and serve with crackers. This is a fan favorite and people request that I bring it to parties all the time.

Bacon-Wrapped Wienies

Bacon
Cocktail Wienies
Brown sugar

Cut each slice of bacon into three strips. Wrap a strip of bacon around each wienie, secure with toothpick and place in a throw-away foil pan (it’s tough to clean up on a regular pan). Dump brown sugar on top (and add lots, I mean drench those babies in sugar). Bake for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. SO good.

No-Bake Blueberry Cheesecake

One sleeve of graham crackers
One stick butter, melted
1/4 cp. sugar

8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 cp. powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
One tub Cool Whip
One can of blueberry pie topping/filling

Smash the sleeve of graham crackers (I smash mine a lot. I suppose if you wanted a chunkier crust, you could just …  not smash as much). In a bowl, combine smashed crackers, butter, and sugar. Mix together and pat into an 8×8 pan. In separate bowl, mix cream cheese, vanilla, and powdered sugar with mixer. Add whipped cream, mix with spatula. Spread cream cheese mixture on top of graham cracker crust. Dump pie filling on top and chill for at least two hours. Be prepared to eat the entire thing.

Fiesta Roll-Ups

Package of 10 tortillas
16 oz. sour cream
One packet of dry Fiesta Ranch dressing mix
One small can of chopped black olives

Mix together everything but the tortillas. Spread the mixture on a tortilla, and roll it up. Once you’ve rolled all the tortillas, cover them and let them sit in the fridge for a while, I usually do this overnight. Once they’ve sat long enough, slice them up and you have delicious, fiesta-y little pinwheels of fabulousness.

Chili Cheese Dip

3/4 of a brick of Velveeta cheese (seriously, is there anything better than a brick of cheese? I think not.)
One large can of Steak ‘n Shake Chili. (ACCEPT NO SUBSTITUTES. Seriously. Because otherwise, this is just plain old boring Chili Cheese Dip and you will think “OMG Kristina is dumb, this is just chili cheese dip.” STEAK ‘N SHAKE CHILI.)

You can do this in a CrockPot, but I like to cube the cheese, melt it, then add the chili, then heat again for a minute or two. Because this is FASTER and I can shovel it into my mouth FASTER. Serve with chips (duh).

Coconut Fruit Dip

Sliced and/or otherwise cut up fruit (I like grapes, strawberries, cantaloupe, and pineapple with this dip)
One tub Cool Whip
16 oz. cream cheese, softened
Can of Cream of Coconut

Mix everything but the fruit together. Dip the fruit all day long because it’s so good.

Now, go forth and party and eat like an unhealthy college kid!

4 Responses to “Easy Appetizer Recipes”

  1. Angela Noelle November 14, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Would it be weird to serve that bacon cheddar ranch dip at Thanksgiving? Because that sounds AWESOME. What kind of consistency do you get when you think it’s the “right” amount of cheese?

    • Kristina November 15, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Not weird at all!!! I bring it to all of our family get togethers. And I just add cheese and bacon until it’s “chunky.” That probably does not help you at all 🙂

      • Angela Noelle November 15, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

        Haha! No, that’s very helpful! Thanks 😉

  2. Life of a Doctor's Wife November 15, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Velveeta is a food of the gods. Plastic-y, chemical-y, amazing food of the gods.

    My favorite appetizers are:

    1. Get some endive – the light green kind. Rinse the leaves. Fork some goat cheese onto each leaf. Sprinkle with dried cranberries, chopped walnuts. Drizzle with good quality balsamic vinegar. SO GOOD. And also kind of fancy.

    2. Get a baguette, some cheese (parmesan? Manchego? Sharp cheddar?), some Dijon mustard. Mix the mustard with lots of the cheese. Spread the mixture on sliced baguette and toast in the oven until bubbly. While toasting, dice some bell peppers and onions. Remove bubbly baguettes. Sprinkle with dices veggies and capers. Yum.

    3. And I love stuffed mushrooms. I think I wrote about them somewhere? Here is a link: http://lifeofadoctorswife.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/easy-delicious-and-did-i-mention-easy/

Leave a Reply

