On books

17 Nov

I am a voracious reader. For as long as I can remember, books have been my escape, my slice of sanity, my most reliable friend. My husband always jokes that we’re totally screwed if our house ever catches on fire because of all the books we have packed in boxes and sitting on shelves.

But books comfort me and allow me to step outside of my life. When I’m immersed in a good story, my mind blissfully goes blank, save for the words on the page. It’s an escape and a quiet I don’t get otherwise.

Unfortunately, my husband doesn’t share my love of books. He’s just not a reader. He always asks why I spend so much time reading about things that have never happened, when I could do something like watch a baseball game and witness history being made first-hand.  Some days I still can’t believe I married him.

But to him, I say, books have changed my life. Not just for the knowledge I’ve gained or the time I’ve spent just plain enjoying a good book, but it’s so much more than that.

Books have:

taken me to a world that I could have never imagined

made me so invested in the characters that I sobbed when someone died

caused me to question how I treat my family and how I love and show appreciation for all of the good things in my life

stunned me into silence with the story of someone else’s bravery

given me hope that I might be good enough

allowed me to travel back in time and bear witness to that which I could have never imagined

made me think long and hard about how I related to people who are different than me … and those who are living right under my nose and might need some kindness and compassion

just plain entertained me

And these are just some of my favorite books. I couldn’t even being to count the number of books I’ve read in my life and I know that each of them have left a mark, no matter how small, on my personality. I’ve carried the countless characters with me, thought about them frequently, and felt as if they were old friends.

My kids love to read and for that I’m so very grateful. I look forward to the day when I can start reading them Harry Potter, or when they start to sound out words on their own and I can watch their little faces become enraptured with what is going on on those pages. I see it now, as I read about Llama Llama, or Green Eggs and Ham, or  a pigeon who wants a hot dog. They laugh when it’s funny and their little faces get serious when someone is sad and they read along with me to the ones they know by heart.

I’m so happy they have a love of books, as there is nothing more I want as a parent than for them to be changed, or transported, or challenged, or just plain wrapped up.

2 Responses to “On books”

  1. beckyday6 November 17, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I really enjoyed this post! And I completely agree 🙂 I’m always trying to convince the friends of mine that don’t read why they should, and the reasons I give are very similar to your list above! 🙂 I love the fact that books can impact your life in so many ways, and open your eyes up to new possibilities……

  2. Life of a Doctor's Wife November 17, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    You and I have so many shared favorites! I love to read. Someday I shall have time to read again.

Leave a Reply

