Quiet Place

22 Nov

Little feet are ensconced in footie pajamas and tucked into bed. My husband has been passed out on the couch for an hour, with his feet in my lap. I am awake, reading, decompressing, thankful for these minutes in which no one is asking me for something.

I gently wake my love and send him to bed. I check locks, flip switches. I kiss soft cheeks and re-arrange blankies. As I walk through the silent house, I revel in its warmth, its security, its sense of home and safety. I feel thankful that it’s mine, that we are blessed with everything we need for our family.

I lay in bed, tucked in with my husband and my Kindle. I allow myself to get lost in my book, allow my mind to stop swirling. I read to my heart’s delight, with no interruptions, no distractions.

When I finally close my eyes, I am content, fulfilled, and calm – likely for the first time all day. For all the worries I’ll face with the rising of the sun, right now it doesn’t matter. It will all be there tomorrow. But now, I am still. Quiet.

This post was inspired by a prompt from Write on Edge:

This week, as we enter one of the busiest times of year, I say we take a lesson from these second graders and write about a (real) place that makes us feel peaceful.

Where is your quiet place? What does it look like? What happens there?

Word limit is 200.

9 Responses to “Quiet Place”

  1. Mrsbear November 22, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    I love those peaceful moments when you are just full of gratitude and be quiet. Sweetly written.

  2. Cheryl @ Mommypants November 22, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    This made me feel so happy and calm. There is nothing more peaceful than a quiet house and a chance to lose yourself in a good book.

  3. angela November 22, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I like the part about just bathing in the fact that no one is asking you for anything. I don’t think I completely appreciated alone time until I had kids!

  4. Rita @YippyMomma November 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Love curling up with a book or my nook before bedtime. It is indeed a great quiet time.

  5. Life of a Doctor's Wife November 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Lovely. 🙂

  6. Tina November 22, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I like how you unraveled the night until you arrived in bed with your book. I was destressing just reading this!

  7. Natalie @MamaTrack November 22, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    This sounds just lovely. It’s not something I ever experience because my husband ALWAYS stays up later. But you make me want to, at least once.

  8. Galit Breen November 22, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I love the still – and can so, so feel it here!

  9. Mandyland November 24, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    What I really liked here was the silence that came through in your words. It’s hard to explain, but I could feel the quiet and the calm. Great job!

Leave a Reply

