2012

5 Jan

Man, I was so proud of myself for seeing NaBloPoMo through. My stats were up! People were commenting! I was loving it! And then … BAM. I started working from home and oddly, spend less time blogging, annoying my dear Internet friends, and losing hours of my life to Twitter and Pinterest. And then the holidays came. Also my kids are home with me from 11:00 on and they are heathens. Heathens, I tell you.

Anyway! I started to do the obligatory year-end post but found that all of my answers started with “I quit my job!” or “I’m working from home!” or “I’m constantly worried about finding work (of which I’ve found NONE – YAY!) and money!” so I didn’t think that would be all that interesting to read. In fact, I know it wouldn’t be all that interesting to read, so I’ve spared you a lot of pain and heartache, Internet.

I’m trying to not make any solid resolutions this year, as I pretty much suck at follow-through. But my main goal in 2011 was to start working at home for myself, and I met that goal. So maybe I can follow-through with one thing for 2012. I suppose I’ll just call them goals and hope that I can pull one of them off.

1) Lose 25 pounds.

2) Build my clientele so I don’t have to constantly worry about money or feel guilty that I’m not working enough.

3) Read 50 books.

4) Write here. Get published somewhere for something.

And that’s it. Sounds manageable. I hope.

Anyway, I’ve found myself fervently hoping that the beginning of a year is not an indication of how the rest of the year is going to go.

Because sometimes your husband will get sick the day before Christmas Eve and will spend the rest of December and first week of January fighting it off.

Because sometimes your son will start puking the night before New Year’s Eve, when you’re supposed to get a massage with your husband and have a night out with friends.

Because sometimes your daughter will start puking two days later and there is just no easy way to handle a puking one year old who cannot yet aim for the bucket.

Because sometimes you your dog escapes when it’s 20 degrees outside and you spend an hour and a half driving around and then have to go to sleep because it’s midnight and you can’t find him. Then you have to wake up at 6:00 the next (after not sleeping much, anyway) to look again and call animal control and still not find him.

But your husband pulls it together enough so that we can pull this off and give our kids an amazing Christmas:

(And this doesn’t include the two bikes that were hiding on the back porch!)

And your awesome parents still agree to watch the kids in spite of the puking so that you can get your massage and go out with your friends and eat way too much sushi and drink way too much wine.

And your daughter, who is sick and miserable, looks up at you and says “I o-tay Mama,” and gives you a hug.

And as you’re driving through your neighborhood for the bazillionth time, looking for the dog, and you’re simulatneously on the phone with animal control, you see a cute little boy in his front yard with your dog on a leash and because they are kind, good people, your dog has been in their house all night, not freezing to death outside.

So I guess it wouldn’t be the worst thing if the rest of 2012 shaped up like this first week.

5 Responses to “2012”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife January 5, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Awww, I loved this! What positive takeaways!

    Also, I WAS annoyed that stopped blogging so frequently. 🙂 (I know that’s not what you meant, but clearly that’s the only way you could possibly annoy me… so…)

    Your tree looks so pretty!! There is nothing more cheerful and full of promise than a lit-up Christmas tree looming over a pile of presents.

  2. Heather January 5, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Another stellar post, dear! Also, on the “lose 25 pounds” note — join Carlie and I on our 2012 journey over at http://weightsabitch.wordpress.com. It’s our way to document the challenge and keep one another motivated — even through all the puking. 😉

  3. beckyday6 January 6, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Welcome back to the blogosphere, I missed your posts! I hope you have a great 2012 🙂

  4. Angela Noelle January 9, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    It seems like everyone has been ringing in the new year with an illness!! I’m glad that you managed to still pull off an enjoyable holiday season 🙂 Good luck on your goals–they all seem very achievable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh Who I Want to Be « - January 9, 2012

    […] all of this – these are big changes. Way beyond what I said my “goals” were in my last post. I have no fantasies of accomplishing all this in the next year.  I just want to know, in the end, […]

Leave a Reply

