Easy Side Dishes

11 Jan

Since I’ve been working part-time and working from home, I’ve had more time to cook and it’s been great. I never realized how stressful it had become for me working full-time and trying to get a decent dinner on the table before 7 pm. It often resulted in not only a lot of eating out, but also many out-of-the-box and make-it-as-quick-as-I-can dinners. I became the queen of quick side dishes. Now that I have more time, I’ve experimented with other side dishes, but always find myself coming back to the easy ones. Following are some of my favorite and easy side dishes. Not all of them are super healthy, and aren’t all quick, but they’re all delish!

Easy Green Beans

 

One can green beans
One beef buillion cube

Place the buillion cube in a sauce pan and put water in pan until the cube is covered. Dump in green beans. Bring to a boil and simmer uncovered for about 10 minutes.

I’m not sure what it is about this – it just adds a little something extra to the flavor of the beans without using creamed soup or butter.

 

The Best Garlic Cheese Bread Ever

One loaf of french baquette
Garlic butter spread (I buy the kind made by the grocery store’s deli)
Provel cheese

Cut the loaf of bread length-wise and place it on a cookie sheet. Spread garlic butter on each side of bread and top with provel cheese. Bake at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes, or until cheese is slightly browned.

My mother in law used to make this all the time when Hubs was growing up. But she used regular french bread. The first time I tried to make this for Hubs, I accidentally bought the baquette. Hubs claims it’s better that way, so this is how I make it all the time.

 

Broccoli That Even My Kids Eat

Two heads fresh broccoli
1/4 cp. Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Parmesan cheese

Break apart broccoli into florets. Toss broccoli with oil, salt, and pepper. Place broccoli on foil-lined pan and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake at 425 until slightly crispy (usual about 12 minutes in my oven). Then be amazed that your kids chow them down!

 

Onion Potatoes

5-6 potatoes, sliced
1/4 cp olive oil
One package dry onion soup mix

Mix olive oil and soup mix. Toss potatoes with soup and oil mixture. Spray a pan with cooking spray and place potatoes in a single layer. Bake at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes. Flip potatoes and bake for another 15 minutes or until crispy.

 

Yummy Squash and Zucchini

Two small yellow squash
One zucchini
Balsalmic vinaigrette dressing

Slice squash and zucchini into strips (or cubes, but I like strips) and put in ziploc bag with dressing. Allow to marinate overnight. I put this in one of those pans that are made to go on the grill. Place the pan on the grill and cook until soft. But if you’re not grilling, you can simply dump the veggies in a frying pan on the stove and cook until soft. The grill is better, but the other way is still yummy.

 

3 Responses to “Easy Side Dishes”

  1. Angela Noelle January 12, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Yum!! I’m bookmarking this and will definitely be referring to it in the future. Especially the broccoli and garlic bread!

  2. Life of a Doctor's Wife January 12, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    PROVEL CHEESE! I had forgotten ALL about Provel. I left it in St. Louis along with toasted ravioli. 🙂

    The broccoli sounds really yummy! I love broccoli, but steaming it gets pretty boring.

    • Kristina January 12, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      I forget sometimes that you can’t provel and toasted ravioli everywhere. It makes me sad for the deprived 🙂

Leave a Reply

