Curiosity Killed the Cat

21 May

Occasionally K from Two Adults One Brown Baby does a post I believe she calls “Nosy Nancy” (I’m too lazy to go look and make sure). Anyway, I loooove when she does that and totally stalk the comments on those posts.

I’m a naturally nosy curious person. One of my most favorite things in the whole world is going to someone’s house for the first time. I love to see how people live – Are they clean or cluttery (that’s totally a word)? Do they decorate or just throw random shit on the walls? How big is their house? Whose faces are in their picture frames? And on and on and on. I stop myself from going through bathroom cabinets when I need to use the restroom, but in all honesty, sometimes it’s hard not to peek.

I don’t know what this says about me. I’d like to think it says something profound about my nature – that I’m deeply interested in the human condition, and what makes us who we are. I think it simply means I’m nosy curious.

So, in light of this (possibly disturbing) information about me, I would like to ask you some questions, Internet, in the hopes that you will answer honestly and satisfy my disturbing endearing curiosity:

How often do you change your sheets?

I heard on the radio recently that the average is once every three weeks. I don’t want to offend anyone, so I’m going to withhold my commentary about that, but I religiously change mine once a week. When I get rich (ha, ha) the first thing I’m going to do is hire someone to change my sheets DAILY.

How often do you clean your house, as in dust, vacuum, sweep, clean kitchen, clean bathroom?

I do this once a week too and feel so … yucky … if I don’t get to it. Am I totally OCD?

Do you use plug-in air fresheners?

(You have to be thinking I’m totally crazy right now, right?) I ask this because my house never smells like an air freshener. Ok, that sounds weird. Here is where I’m going with this – some people’s houses smell so delicious all the time. Mine … does not, unless I have my Scentsy plugged in or just sprayed air freshener or something. I don’t think it smells bad, but it doesn’t smell obviously good either. Is there a secret? Is it all about the plug-ins that are continuously providing delicious smells? And here is something to FURTHER illustrate my crazy (as if you weren’t already convinced) but I once saw a picture online (and the internet NEVER lies, right?) of a plug-in air freshener that had caused a house to burn down entirely. Ever since then I have been leery of them.

Sometimes I see people with personalized license plates that say things like “BLSSD X4” or “LF S GOOD” or “LUCKY” and I think “Oh, how nice that they appreciate their life.” But most days I think “Yeah, right. Show-off.” Am I just a bitch or do you roll your eyes too?

I have no justification for asking this question other than I’m worried that my disdain for these types of license plates is an indication that I’m not very nice. Also, why do people get personalized license plates that say things like “YLW STANG” on their yellow Mustang? Now, again, I don’t want to offend anyone, but CLEARLY you are driving a yellow Mustang. CLEARLY.

Ok, back to my questions about your home. How small does a home have to be for you to consider it small? How big is your house?

I live in the Midwest, where I know a typical home is much, much larger than a home in, say, Manhattan. My house is 1250 sq. feet, 3 bedrooms, 1 bath, and I get a lot of comments about how small our house is. And it is, in comparison to  average home sizes in our area, but we wanted to be on the lake and had to buy what we could afford and have plans to add on and yada yada yada.

Ok, I think that will satisfy my curiosity for a little while. Bonus points if you send me a link to a post with pictures of your house!

6 Responses to “Curiosity Killed the Cat”

  1. JJ May 22, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    I would *love* to have my sheets changed daily 🙂 But I do change them weekly. I dust/vacuum once a week.

  2. K May 22, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I change everyone’s sheets once a week. Is loathsome to do but lovely to sleep in. And I’m with you on the rich person thing–CLEAN SHEETS EVERYDAY.

    We have a cleaning lady that comes every other week, but in between I usually vacuum our rugs and wet Swiffer the bathrooms and kitchen every other day or so.

    I don’t use plug-in air fresheners, but I am a HUGE Febreeze-er and will Febreeze pretty much anything that doesn’t move.

    I totally roll my eyes to vanity plates. And maybe think, “Douche.”

    I don’t have any preconceived notions or opinions about small homes. I guess it’s whatever feels good to who’s living there? I don’t know. Our home is 2400 square feet and feels like enough for four people.

    • Kristina May 23, 2012 at 7:11 am #

      I almost used the description “Douche in the First Degree” but didn’t want to offend. Vanity plates in general don’t bother me so much as the ones that are clearly trying to make the rest of us feel like shit about ourselves 🙂

  3. Life of a Doctor's Wife May 22, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Oooh I would LOVE clean sheets every day! I wash them about every week. I say about because sometimes my hatred of laundry wins out over my love of clean sheets. SOMETIMES. Please do not disown me as a friend.

    I clean the house about once a week. Although I do not ALWAYS dust once a week because dusting sucks. If you were to come stay here, though, I would dust the crap out of my house.

    I do not use air fresheners and sometimes my house smells like old food. God, my house sounds like a craphole. It doesn’t ALWAYS smell like old food. Just… the day after we make something particularly odiferous. I tried to put some vanilla in a cup and put it in the oven once because I heard (probably from HereWeGoAgain) that it would make the house smell lovely. Turns out, it made my house smell like burnt vanilla. Jen also recommends putting lemon peel and cinnamon sticks in a pot of water and simmering them. That also doesn’t work for me.

    When I was growing up, I had a personalized license plate. It was awesome.

    Our house is ginormous. It is 2,400 square feet, four bedrooms, two and a half baths. We got it for a song and I STILL feel guilty about it. It is way too big for two people. No wonder people keeping elbowing us in the ribs and giving us the knowing eyebrows and saying, “You have to fill all those bedrooms now!” See? Now you understand why I don’t dust every week.

    • Kristina May 23, 2012 at 7:13 am #

      That kind of “simmering in a pot” shit doesn’t ever work for me either. My my house is extra stinking. But either way, I don’t think it would have a lasting effect.

      Also, I don’t want you to think I loathe ALL vanity plates – I don’t. Just the ones where people are trying to shove their “perfect” life down my throat. Wow, that sounds hostile, but you know what I mean. So unless yours said some variation of “LUCKIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD OMG” we can still be friends 🙂

  4. Jenn May 23, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    I change my sheets once a week, sometimes more if a situation, um, calls for it.
    I all-the-way clean a different room every day. So everything is mostly clean all the time, but I never have to spend an entire day cleaning. Sometimes I double up, because I like to do the bathroom twice! The kids keep their bedrooms clean on their own, though.

    I have a scentsy thing too, which is on most days. But I never use the other kinds of plug in air fresheners. I think most of them stink.

    I enjoy figuring out what license plates are supposed to say/mean. I think some of them are hilarious, because people can be idiots. If that makes you a not nice person, then I am also a not nice person!

    We have 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a separated kitchen, a laundry room, and a pretty good sized living room (used to be 2 rooms, a wall was taken down). It is all one level. I guess it would be considered on the small side, but we’re comfortable. And if we had more space, we’d just fill it with more stuff we don’t need!!

Leave a Reply

