Tidbits #3

7 Jun

I have approximately 7,309 posts in my head. I am still struggling, six months later, to balance this working from home/working for myself thing. It’s difficult when I’m “done” working (even though I’m never really done – it’s one of the drawbacks of having all of your work at home, staring you in the face) to take time to write for fun because there is laundry to do, errands to run, workouts to get through.

So! Bullets!

  • I’m becoming one of those people who I always thought were either weird and/or lying. You know the ones, the people who say they “love” working out and feel “bad” if they miss a workout. But it’s true. I get it now. I annoy myself. Now if only I would stop shoveling food into my mouth, maybe I would make it to my goal weight.
  • We’re buying a new car soon. And even though the thought of having another car payment (mine is paid off) makes me want to vomit, I really love the new-car smell.
  • My kids have perfected the art of whining. And by that I mean that they refuse to stop. They are, in fact, so persistent that as an alternative to literally losing my mind and/or inflicting harm on someone or something, I give in. I think this was their plan all along.
  • We joined a local pool this summer and even though I was not happy about spending hundreds of dollars on it, it has been awesome and I’m so glad we did.
  • I am FAR from perfect but sometimes people in my life do really dumb and annoying things and I really just want to say “Are you F-ING KIDDING ME??” Most of this involves Facebook posts and I’m starting to think I really need to quit Facebook so that I can keep a shred of my formerly nice and non-judgmental self.
  • I feel really, really, really lucky that I have an Internet friend as wonderful as Mrs. D.
  • I am already tired of the election crap and it’s only June.
  • I am also really tired of the stay at home mom v. working mom crap, in addition to the breastfeeding v. formula feeding crap. And pictures like this, with a title that suggests, however mildly, that if you don’t do [insert whatever thing you’re “supposed” to do] you are not “mom enough” does not help the situation. Let’s seriously just let other people live their lives.
  • I love Goodreads. Random, but true.
  • Hubs and I went to lunch yesterday and were talking about my job and the freedom it has allowed me to have and how much of a relief it is to me that I get to work and be the kind of parent I want to be. He cocked his head, looked at me and said, “So basically you’re living your dream life?” He was kidding around, but it hit me that, with some small exceptions, I am. And I am so incredibly thankful for that.
2 Responses to “Tidbits #3”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife June 11, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    That last bullet made me smile. You rock.

    A new car?!?! That’s exciting!

    And thanks for the shout out – I feel like the lucky one.

  2. Ryan June 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Livin’ the dream!

Leave a Reply

