Short Cookies

15 Apr

A couple of weeks ago I gave Nolan a cookie after dinner. When he was done, he said “Mommy? I’m feeling like my cookie was too short.” I laughed, of course, because it was cute and innocent but that pretty much sums up how I’ve been feeling about everything lately. I’m so focused on how much I hate my job and I’m spending what little free time I have working on getting a new career started that I feel like all my cookies are too short. I don’t have nearly enough time to spend time with my husband and my kids and do the things that make me happy. So! Today you get randomosity, because really I don’t think I can string together something interesting and/or well written.

  1. And already I’m drawing a blank. I can’t even bring you randomosity! Worst blog ever!
  2. Let’s try again. I want you all to know that every single time I get in the car to drive anywhere, another driver inevitably pisses me off. I really think that I have a sign on my car that says “Please! Be in a big ass hurry to pull out in front of me and then drive 10 MILES UNDER THE SPEED LIMIT. Also, I really LOVE it when you sit at an intersection NOT TURNING RIGHT even though there is no sign indicating that you CANNOT TURN RIGHT. And if you would really love to make my day, please reduce your speed to approximately 5 miles an hour on road with a speed limit of 45 BEFORE YOUGET INTO THE LEFT TURN LANE.” I guess that would be a pretty big sign, but you get the picture. Also, you may now understand that I suffer from a bit of road rage. Ahem.
  3. I’m tired of worrying about my weight (excuse me, I had to pause to take a drink of my Coke THAT ISN’T EVEN A DIET COKE). We’re still faithful to P90x but my results aren’t as good as I was hoping they would be at this point, with only 2 weeks left to go. I have only lost about 4 pounds and yes I have muscles and yes my clothes fit much better and I’ve probably lost a size or two but I still don’t look the way I want to look. It’s frustrating. Part of it is my fault because I’ve not been eating the way that I should (*ahem*Coke*ahem*). But I think I made a mistake in jumping right into P90x. I think that I should have started a more cardio intensive workout to burn off some fat before I started working my muscles. Now I just have muscles still covered by flab. Ugh. It’s frustrating. I’m sick of worrying about it. I want to get down to my goal weight and be done with it. If only it were that easy, huh? I think my plan after our two weeks is up is to start running again, get back on a diet and see what I can do on my own in two months. Then after that, I’ll reevaluate and maybe do a modified round of P90x or a round of the 30 Day Shred. The good news? I’ve been working out so long that I don’t see my momentum waning at all. I don’t want to stop because it will probably take another year to get it back if I lose it now.
  4. My baby turned one on Saturday. One. Hold me please. She is walking and talking and she isONE.
  5. Do you and your significant other fight about the same things all the time? Hubs and I do.ALLthe time. The fight usually starts because of something really stupid (Monday, we got in a fight that started because of a pizza. A PIZZA.) but always inevitably leads to the things that are really the root of our problems and then turns into a big huge serious fight. It’s so dumb. If we would just address the issues at the root of our fights we wouldn’t fight over stuff like pizza anymore. But that’s easier said than done when we don’t even have time for a date much less addressing all of the Big Serious Issues in Our Marriage. (And for the record I’m not talking about anything that is a deal-breaker here, but just the recurring themes in our relationship that we both know we need to work on.) What’s the silliest fight you’ve ever gotten into?

 And yeah. That’s really all I’ve got. 756 words worth of nothin’. I can’t even think of a way to sum it up nicely.

What’s up with you Internet?

2 Responses to “Short Cookies”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife April 15, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    You make me giggle. 🙂

    I get really annoyed when I drive, too. People are CRAZY on the road!

    And YES. Husband and I fight about the same things. Bigger (but not really SEVERE) issues that come out in little things, like someone not refilling the stupid Brita. So stupid and so annoying. (But I usually end up a teary mess nonetheless.)

    Happy Friday, my friend!

  2. Jenn April 16, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    We got into a fight just last night over stereo speakers. And yeah, it turned into something else. There is only one thing that we really fight about, and it sucks. Like you guys, it isn’t anything that would cause a divorce or serious rift, but it is something that we are both aware of, and we just don’t have time for the work to make it better. So, you’re not alone!
    Also, it ticks me off when people pull out in front of me and then go slowly, too. Or if they pull out in front of me, and then turn off almost immediately. Gah! I am pretty sure that my kids have learned most of their “rude words” (fool! crap! idiot! ass-phalt! fuu-dge!) while in the car with me.

Leave a comment